Governor Newsom Outlines The Stages of Opening California

By on April 29, 2020
SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA – AUGUST 16: California Gov. Gavin Newsom speaks during a news conference with California attorney General Xavier Becerra at the California State Capitol on August 16, 2019 in Sacramento, California. California attorney genera Xavier Becerra and California Gov. Gavin Newsom announced that the State of California is suing the Trump administration challenging the legality of a new “public charge” rule that would make it difficult for immigrants to obtain green cards who receive public assistance like food stamps and Medicaid. (Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

On Tuesday April 28, Governor Newsom outlined a new plan for reopening California. This last month we have seen protests in states around the country, including California. There are many citizens that demand the country fully reopens.

Newsom discussed why it is not safe to fully open the state and shared the four stages of reopening California.

The stages are as follows:

  1. Safety and Preparedness
  2. Lower Risk Workplaces
  3. Higher Risk Workplaces
  4. End of Stay-at-home Order

For full description click here.

As of right now there are no exact dates to the phases. Newsom says it’s important we slowly open the state by allowing the public health to guide us.

It appears as though many people would prefer that the state does not reopen, currently #DONotOpenCalifornia is trending on Twitter. Californians are asking one another to simply stay home so that COVID-19 can stop spreading.

As much as we all want things to go back to normal, we must consider the health of those around us and do what is best. For now, continue to stay home and stay strong Bay Area!


Around the site